Uji Byodoin, the World Heritage Site
Byodoin Temple was built by the Regent, Fujiwara no Yorimich, by rebuilding the villa of Michinaga, his father in 1052. In 1053, the following year, Amidado was built, where Amitabha Tathagara is enshrinted, and is now called Hoo-do (Phoenix Hall). It is an elegant and ornate structure, in the image of Palace in Jodo, Happy Heaven. Hoo-do has been repainted beautifully.